To kill a writer

I draw daydreams devoid of grammar.

Jumble memories with synonyms.

Cook laughter with adjectives.

Flirt with rhymings.

Drool over oxymorons.

_ (1).jpeg

My masterpiece is not just another

crushed paper.

Or left stale at the back of a

hotel bill.

Or a long text message

killed slowly

with backspace.

x473.jpg

It is not just another word document

punctured with punctuations,

pathetically clutching the clauses,

with wasted verbs,

privileged by pronouns

 

……..

……..

……..

 

It is a canvas hidden with puzzles,

masking the festering wounds,

concealing a story

written in haste and hurry.

Its my medicine that I can’t take

for the disease I can’t fake.

screenshot_20191006-021146.png

 

Ma says I’m a dreamer.

I smile slyly.

She never know I wrote things for her.

How her fingertips rubbing my scalp,

Stifling my hair

brings calm to my storms.

How her laughter to my lamest jokes

brings rainbow to my colorblind eyes!

istockphoto-522188889-612x612.jpg

They say, writers are over thinkers

who weaves drama

with sunsets and deaths.

I say YES!

My naked words

quivered with shame

facing your pointy fingers.

So I covered them with strike offs,

replacing them with meticulous metaphors.

They were as genuine as my freckles.

Also as shy as my face.

Maybe, that’s why I covered them

with my hair of laced lies on butterflies.

screenshot_20191006-021151-2.png

So never tell a writer

that her poems are plain!

she’s not an upset stomach

that throws up thesaurus.

Never suggest a writer

a new Instagram infected writing style!

She’ll take it.

And while you smile

She’ll break it!RebeccaMcMeen_UrbanInstilledElements_UrbanGirlColor.png

 

A writer dance for the tune of phonetics.

Plan a night out with personifications.

And never think twice to

break up with your judgements,

building up a tall wall of ignorance

which lets in only the legit critics.

When An Idea Hit My Brain  Inspirational Sketches  Art Drawings _.jpeg

A writer stitches gore with similes,

Iron it with ironies,

Wears it with the pretense

of happiness.

But when you say –

“It is beautiful”

and walk away,

 

You killed her with the blunt blade of clichĂ©…

 

 

 

40 Realistic Watercolor Portrait Illustrations and Paintings (Tutorial) - Cartoon District.jpeg

Leave a comment